I Was Charged With a DWI, Now What?
After being arrested for DWI you probably feel confused and anxious about what to expect. What should you do next? When can you get your license back?
First, you should contact an attorney. A lawyer can help explain the process and can even help you get a Limited Driving Privilege to help get you back on the road. Often, you will be able to get a Limited Driving Privilege after just 10 days, rather than waiting the full 30 days of your pre-trial civil revocation.
An attorney will be able to explain the court process to you and the positives and negatives of a trial versus plea. While a plea may seem like the easy way out, if you plead guilty, the DWI will show up on your permanent record and cannot be expunged under North Carolina law. You should have an attorney review your case to consider all possible defenses.
Remember, you are innocent until proven guilty and the State of North Carolina must prove that you were Driving While Impaired beyond a reasonable doubt. They must satisfy every element of DWI to prove their case!
The attorneys at The Law Offices of Wiley Nickel have experience representing clients with DWI charges, and will work diligently to get the best possible outcome for you. If you have any questions about DWI charges, call the Law Offices of Wiley Nickel for a free consultation at 919-585-1486. You can also email Kristi Haddock at Kristi@wileynickel.com or Wiley Nickel at firstname.lastname@example.org.