Has NC legalized Marijuana?
With changing ideas and views towards marijuana usage and possession, it can be extremely confusing knowing what the law is in North Carolina. Is marijuana possession still illegal in North Carolina? The short answer is yes, possession is still a crime, and you can be charged in criminal court.
What are the consequences of possessing marijuana? That depends on the amount. If you are charged with possession, and have less than .5 ounces of marijuana, it will be a Class III misdemeanor, and may carry a maximum of 30 days in jail. If you are charged with possessing .5-1.5 ounces, it is a Class I misdemeanor, with a maximum sentence of 45 days and fines up to $1,000. If you are charged with more than 1.5 ounces, you could be charged with a Class 1 Felony. Felonies are treated much more severely than misdemeanors, and can carry a punishment of 1 year in prison. Repeated offenses could create longer sentences.
So what do you do?
The first thing that you must do is contact a criminal defense attorney. This will be your best bet in making sure that you protect yourself, and your rights. You need attorneys that have experience and will fight for you. If you have any questions, please call the Law Offices of Wiley Nickel, PLLC., in Cary, NC.
Attorney Kristi Haddock and Wiley Nickel are engaging, hard-working lawyers who will represent your interests, and try to obtain the best possible outcome for you. You can call the Law Offices of Wiley Nickel, PLLC. at (919)-585-1486 for a FREE consultation, or email Kristi Haddock and Wiley Nickel at email@example.com or firstname.lastname@example.org